The One About Halfway Done.

So I’m two weeks into my vegan, gluten-free, caffeine and sugar-free cleanse.

The novelty has definitely worn off.

It’s not that there are no choices – there are lots of choices of things I can eat.  I have probably not taken advantage of all of the restaurants that have gluten-free, vegan choices in my area.  We went out for lunch yesterday to a restaurant that is one of our favorites, and there were a million things on the menu to eat – including vegan, gluten-free nachos!  Sign me up for a bucket of that every day!

Anyway, I have two more weeks to go before I can say I was a vegan for a month.  Yesterday, I decided to make roasted vegetable pasta salad, using quinoa pasta – this is actually something I make regularly and I love it.

I started with an ear of corn, an orange pepper, a red pepper, a zucchini, a carrot and the white tops of several green onions.

I grilled them on the barbecue, brushing them with olive oil and balsamic vinegar, until they were cooked but not blackened.

Then I chopped them into similar-sized pieces:

Then I chopped some kalamata olives, a half of a large jar of artichoke hearts, and some sun-dried tomatoes, and mixed the whole shebang with about a pound of cooked quinoa pasta.  Dressed with some balsamic vinaigrette and there you have it!  Roasted vegetable pasta salad.  Very tasty.

Bonus recipe – Kalamata olive and chickpea hummus!  I saw Giada DiLaurentiis make this on Food Network and of course I had to futz with it to make it a little better.

Drain (but do not rinse) a can of chickpeas; add to blender or Cuisinart.  Add about a half cup of pitted kalamata olives.  Add about 3-4tablespoons of the liquid from a jar of artichoke hearts, a few teaspoons of fresh lemon juice, some chopped basil, fresh ground pepper, some smoked paprika and a pinch of red pepper flakes.  Blend.  This will be the best hummus you have ever had!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The One About Halfway Done.

  1. Looks good! But, I don’t know how you’re surviving:)

  2. The hardest part for me, in changing the way I eat, is finding new recipes that work which will not take a lot of time. It is hard not to fall back on old favourites that can be made quickly and without thinking.

Leave a Reply

